Become Catholic

How do I learn about Catholicism?
How do I become Catholic?
I was baptized a Catholic but never received one or more of the sacraments; how can I now receive the sacraments?

All of these questions can be answered by attending a program called The Rite of Christian Initiation for Adults (RCIA). This program correlates roughly with the academic school year starting after Labor Day and finishing by the end of May.

The program is divided into four distinct periods: Evangelization and Precatechumenate, Catechumenate, Period of Purification and Enlightenment, and Mystagogy.

1. The Precatechumenate Period is also known as the Period of Inquiry. During this period, teaching is given to people who are interested in learning more about the Catholic Faith. The sessions cover basic information about the Faith and fundamentally communicate the Gospel of Jesus Christ. The church is offering here an invitation to initial conversion. There is no obligation involved in attending these meetings—they are intended to help a person decide whether they want to continue learning about the Faith. Attendees at this stage are known as Inquirers.

2. Inquirers who wish to continue move onto the next stage known as the period of The Order of Catechumens (Candidates for baptized persons wishing to join the Catholic Church). A catechumen or candidate then receives formal education intended to culminate in baptism and inclusion into the church. This period is initiated generally in December by a public acceptance at a Sunday Mass witnessed by the parish worshiping congregation. It is at this time that the new catechumen or candidate selects a sponsor– a practicing Catholic who will journey with them through the process, providing a compelling witness in matters of faith. The Catechumenate is an extended period during which these men and women are given suitable pastoral formation and guidance, aimed at training them in the Christian life.

3. Following a public ceremony at Mass called the Rite of Election and Enrollment at the beginning of the Lenten season, the catechumens and candidates enter into the Period of Purification and Enlightenment. This time is intended to be a period of increased introspection and of coming closer to God. The aim of this period is to eliminate what is weak and sinful, and affirm what is holy. This period culminates with the catechumens and candidates receiving the Sacraments of Initiation (Baptism, Confirmation, and Holy Eucharist) at the Easter Vigil as they are received into full communion with the Church.

4. The fourth stage of R.C.I.A. is called “Mystagogy,” from the Greek words meaning “to lead through the mysteries.” Traditionally mystagogy extends throughout the Easter season, until the feast of Pentecost. This is a period of accompaniment for new Catholics as they discover what it means to fully participate in the sacramental mysteries of the Church. The newly baptized are called “neophytes,” from the Greek words meaning “new plant,” because the faith has been newly planted in them. Even though their catechetical preparation has been completed, they still have much to learn about what it means to live as Catholic Christians. This period should be viewed as the “beginning of the rest of their lives as Catholic Christians” forever learning, loving, and serving God.

Adult Catechism

  • Register with Catechist for enrollment and instructions

For more information visit the catechist office No. 4 or Contact Catechist Baguma on 0701 095 501

Contact Us